Overview of the Innominate Diagnosis

Ready to Learn?

Overview of the Innominate Diagnosis

You are here:

Diagnosing the Innominate includes two important steps:

Step One: Standing Flexion Test

Which side was your standing flexion test positive on? This is the side that you will diagnose, meaning ALL landmark evaluations will be in regards to that same side.

For Example: A patient with a positive standing flexion test on the right should have landmarks reported on the right side

Step Two: Landmark Evaluation

  • You need THREE landmarks to diagnose the pelvis
  • Two of the three must be on one side of the body (anterior OR posterior), while the third is on the opposite side

Landmarks may include: ASIS, PSIS, Pubic Tubercles, and Medial Malleoli

Key points to remember:

  • Hook under the PSIS, medial malleolus, ASIS
  • Assess at eye level
  • Use your dominant eye

Putting it all Together:

With your findings there are 4 possibilities for the diagnosis

2 types of Rotations

Anterior rotation

Posterior rotation

2 types of Shears

Superior shear

Inferior shear

Table of Contents